Saturday, March 2, 2024
HomeCultureWhite Lung Announce Last Album 'Premonition', Launch New Songs

White Lung Announce Last Album ‘Premonition’, Launch New Songs


White Lung are again with information of their subsequent album, Premonition, which is billed because the Vancouver punks’ fifth and last LP. The follow-up to 2016’s Paradise lands on December 2 by way of Domino. To accompany the announcement, the band has shared two new singles, ‘Date Evening’ and ‘Tomorrow’. Each tracks are accompanied by visuals directed by longtime collaborator Justin Gradin. Verify them out beneath, together with the album paintings and tracklist.

Commenting on ‘Date Evening’, frontwoman Mish Barber-Means stated in an announcement: “I felt like that a part of my life was expiring, so I used to be projecting these indignant and scared emotions out onto the town of L.A. as a result of it’s secure and cozy to reside in your anger as an alternative of being self-reflective.”

“‘Tomorrow’ is the music I wrote once I came upon I used to be pregnant,” Mish added. “There was a really critical understanding that life can be completely different endlessly and I used to be relieved to welcome that change.”

In an interview with Melissa Broder, the particular person behind the @sosadtoday Twitter account, Mish elaborated on the origins of Premonition:

I used to be writing whereas I used to be pregnant with my son, not figuring out that I used to be having a boy, so it was unusual as a result of it was the primary time I needed to write sober. It was unhappy that I had by no means sung a single vocal monitor with out alcohol. I used to be additionally going via being pregnant hormones and main physique modifications. I felt like all my creativity was being sucked into the fetus. I couldn’t write. The phrases weren’t coming to me like they used to. It was like this child inside me was taking over all the things I had. I used to be consumed. I turned fixated on that feeling, so the album is concerning the transition to motherhood, being pregnant, and the large life change that I launched into in the course of the lull between our final album. The primary three songs had been written, then I came upon I used to be pregnant, and Premonition turned about that.

Of working with longtime collaborator Jesse Gander, she stated:

We love working with Jesse. He has recognized our band via our complete existence. The intimate story of being pregnant on this album additionally deeply includes Jesse… he was the primary one to know I used to be pregnant, earlier than my husband!

We wished to return to our punk roots so far as manufacturing goes, however we additionally wished to take our time and file in chunks. Paradise was made in Los Angeles underneath a good time restrict and Lars Stalfors did an unimaginable job sprucing these songs with us into lovely, gritty glitter, however this time round we wished to have the ability to benefit from the luxurious of time…and that actually is an understatement contemplating how lengthy it has taken this file to lastly come out. Kenneth went again and did a number of guitar work. Sonically, this can be a very busy and complicated file. This album on a complete may be very journal-esque. I wanted to barf it out and be uncool. Afterall, I’m a mother now. It’s alright to be uncool.

Premonition Cowl Art work:

Premonition Tracklist:

1. Hysteric
2. Date Evening
3. Tomorrow
4. Below Glass
5. Mountain
6. If You’re Gone
7. Lady
8. Chicken
9. One Day
10. Winter



Most Popular

Recent Comments